NEW!Incredible offer for our exclusive subscribers! Read More
How To

How to disable location history from your Google account

3 Mins read

While surfing the internet, using an App, or booking uber cabs. You may be asked for allowing location permission on your devices. Something that should never be overlooked is that since mobile phones have existed, their owners know where we are at all times. That means that those who have created the software we use every time we unlock the screen also know it. And in the case of Android, we are talking about Google. But this can be avoided to some extent. At the very least, make it a little more difficult for the account. If you a looking for how to disable location history from Google. Then you are at the right place.

Mobile phones carry GPS and we can prevent our location from being tracked without having to disconnect them, we simply have to deactivate what Google calls “Location history” and that is nothing other than the list of registered sites where we are going. This can be done in two ways: through the Google Maps app and in the Google account itself. Let’s look at the two steps.

How to manage Google Maps location History

If you are an android device user, the most normal thing is that you have the Google Maps app installed, as it is part of the Google Mobile Services that Mountain View installs in practically every phone that goes on sale. So if you have it handy, you can use it to disable location history.

To do this you will only have to open Google Maps and slide the drop-down on the left to access ” Your Account” . Once inside, we look for the three vertical points in the upper right and click on Settings and Privacy . There we will only have to look for Location Settings . Now we will have several options.

The first is the indicator of what state our automatic location is in. By clicking on it we can activate or deactivate it so that our phone stops collecting this data. What interests us is, however, in the second place: ” the location history is activated” . There we can enter and deactivate it with a couple of taps. Later, if we wish, we can make use of the third option, which is Delete all location history.

There is a fourth interesting option that allows us to erase specific bands of our movements from the register. It is called “Delete a period from the location history” and we can decide which strip to delete without affecting the rest of the record. Finally, we can activate the automatic deletion . Thus, we can keep the history active and it will be erased from time to time as we indicate it.

How to disable location history from Google account

If we wish, or if we do not have Google Maps installed on our phone for some reason, we can use the Google app to carry out the same process. We simply locate it among our installed applications, open it and follow the following steps.

With the Google app open, click on our photo in the upper right corner to open the options, there will appear a button called ” Manage your Google account ” and click on it. A floating browser window will open with our account settings. We slide to the left to go from tab to tab until we reach ” Data and personalization “.

We show you how to access the location history of your Google account through Maps

If we wish, or if we do not have Google Maps installed on our phone for some reason, we can use the Google app to carry out the same process. We simply locate it among our installed applications, open it and follow the following steps.

With the Google app open, click on our photo in the upper right corner to open the options, there will appear a button called ” Manage your Google account ” and click on it. A floating browser window will open with our account settings. We slide to the left to go from tab to tab until we reach ” Data and personalization “.

There we find a section dedicated to the ” Location History” (the same one that we access from Google Maps), in the Controls section of your account activity. We will only have to access and click on the blue switch to deactivate the history. As we will see, Google tells us that this registration is only paused and that we can activate it again whenever we want. Now you just have to press Pause and that’s it.

Also read: How to stream on Twitch from PS5

92 posts

About author

Hitechpanda strives to keep you updated on all the new advancements about the day-to-day technological innovations making it simple for you to go for a perfect gadget that suits your needs through genuine reviews.

Articles
Related posts
How ToNews

How to Watch the Latest Free Netflix 2021

4 Mins read
How to Watch Netflix for Free – For those of you movie fans, you must be familiar with Netflix. Yes, Netflix is ​​one of…
How ToNews

How to fix a 'Download pending' error on Google Play Store

1 Mins read
Problems with downloads can be caused by the store not being updated, which is why you should always ensure that the Google…
How To

How to Delete All Your Voice Recordings on Google Assistant

1 Mins read
A Google Assistant is available on most smartphones and on some smart speakers, including Google Home. In this article we will guide…
Something Techy Something Trendy

Best place to stay tuned with latest infotech updates and news

Subscribe Us Today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *